Know Your Rights


Current Work

IHRCIM  is also working on racial discrimination and the protection of minorities,& indigenious tribes of north east india & also other parts of india which was established in 2011The Network aims to enhance dialogue and cooperation between relevant tribal councils,& welfare Agencies and is currently, working on following  indigenious  naga tribes.

The term Naga people  refers to a conglomeration of several tribes inhabiting the North Eastern part of India and north-western Burma. The tribes have similar cultures and traditions, and form the majority ethnic group in Indian states of Nagaland, with significant presence in ManipurArunachal Pradesh and some small population in Assam.

The Nagas speak various distinct languages, which each belong to branches of Tibeto-Burman, including Angami–PochuriAo, Inpui, Tangkhul, Thangal, Maram and Zeme. In addition, they have developedNagamese creole, which they use between tribes and villages, which each have their own dialect of language.

As of 2012, the state of Nagaland state officially recognises 17 Naga tribes. In addition, some other Naga tribes occupy territory in the contiguous adjoining states of Manipur, Assam, and Arunachal Pradesh, India; and across the border in Burma. Prominent Naga tribes include AngamiAoChakhesangChangKhiamniunganKonyakLiangmaiLothaRongmeiZeme